Saturday, July 28, 2007

The scoop on everything else

Its almost the end of July, and I think I can declare that 2007 is a wonderful year...so far. Since the turn of the new year i had a hunch, a feeling that 2007 is gonna be great. And July has been a blast! So here is a long list of events & other going-ons in my life.

1. For those of you who keep contact with me regularly, u know that i'm still talking about the bootcamp quite a bit. Ever since it ended, my calendar is suddenly filled with gatherings & events (Janet's performance, rehearsals & open mic at The Attic, Ida's gig at Top Room, the restaurant launch, and the gathering at Manuella's-i skipped this one). There's also Megat's play coming up, and Maya's gig, and again Janet's gig, and of course My Name Is Remy in October. Even on a daily basis, i find myself looking forward to going online to check on the group's latest feed.

2. Last night was the official launch of Datin Seri Tiara Jacquelina's new eatery at Sunway called The Borneo Rainforest Cafe. All the bootcampers were invited. I nearly didn't go; was supposed to go back to Penang but sis had other plans. It was when Manuella called me at 6 that i decided : oh what the heck, when else are you gonna get an invite like this. There is a really nice feel to the place (unless it rains of course), and i was happy to see the campers again. I didnt even notice that Siti Nurhaliza + husbad was there, until Chedd pointed it out! He said on his blog that Sofea Jane was there too, but I didnt see her. Blur-case la me. I ate a lot, and was wondering whether or not I had to pay for all this....Apparently not! I think my mum would like the place, especially if they have live music regularly.

3. Medical school. So far, third year (Phase III) has been pretty vague and somewhat dull. I didn't feel a rise in my level of intelligence; the way I felt during the transition from Phase I to Phase II. I take comfort in knowing that I'm not the only one who feels this way. I've got most of my books, but haven't read any. On the brighter side, I'm participating more during the ward rounds; throwing myself out of my comfort zone & trying to overcome the 'please-dont-pick-me, God-I'm-scared-shitless-even-when-I-know-my-stuff'. I'm trying to integrate/apply my personality & the way how i enjoy myself at performances/practices/rehearsals with the cold hard science of Medicine. Its been tough; it doesn't always work. But when it does, it motivates me. I think i can make it....with a whole lot of effort needed on the study n discipline part!

3. My thoughts & feelings. Well, some have said that I am at a crossroads of my life. I agree. I'm trying to balance the pinnacle of science and the pinnacle of arts. Its like stretching myself n running to-n-fro the north and south poles. It is a matter of 'What I'm good at' vs 'What I like doing'. True, i'm not doing anything in theatre. Zero, zip, nada, nothing. But I want to, believe me I do. I can't just jump in, I need to start at the starting line. I still have a lot to learn. Reality being, I believe I have a limited market if i do choose to pursue theatre in future (translate=not much hope). Don't get the wrong picture; this is just me thinking & feeling. I want to be a kick-ass Surgeon (for now) vs I want to be in a kick-ass production with a kick-ass cast & crew. Back to the present : I'm being deployed to Klang on August 27th till the end of the academic year vs I've signed up for the 8th College Drama team and intend to join Festival Seni UM in January. How?

4. Family. My sis is now in UM. First year Law student. I'm proud of her. She's still adjusting, but at the same time celebrating her new Myvi, 2588! Daddy dearest doesn't like me mentioning the campers or seeing performances. According to him, all this is to be done only during my holidays so as not to interfere with academics. He says he supports me doing this as a hobby, but in truth I believe otherwise. I will not elaborate on my reasonings. My mum, i guess she understands my sense of happiness for doing what I do. But, every time i have a holiday she is extremely reluctant of me staying on in KL for whatever reason. See the conflict of interests? Haiyo...

5. I've realized that I have quite a lot in common with my Maksu. I want to be closer to her. I feel she is the adult to whom I can turn to, although she is only 28. But, our relationship is still very very new considering that she's only been part the family for over a year.

7. I watched The King & I at Istana Budaya with Maktok F & my sis. Tics were so expensive; if my grandma hadn't paid for it I wouldn't have watched it. Truth be told, I enjoyed PGLM better. It was more 'alive' and perhaps it was also my first theatre show. Anyway, part of the audience that night was a certain Adlin Aman Ramlie. He came with this woman, and my sis was 'fuming'....hehehe. They sat in our row and my sis couldn't stop stealing a glance. I also saw who I believe to be Carol Eu, the talent agent that was there during our audition. And of course, there was Tun Dr. Mahathir + wife and their lil entourage. Some crowd, huh? Back to the show. The scene I enjoyed most was 'The Small House of Uncle Thomas'. Perhaps it was bacause that scene had the most dance in it. The kids were so adorable. I thought the actress who played Anna was good. The King, (he got great reviews from most people I spoke to) I love the way he handled the humour, so off-hand. Cute, in a way. And I thought the one who played Lady Thiang was good as well. So, that's one musical down, and God-knows-how-many-more to go. (refer previous posts)

8. Next Friday I'm supposed to meet up with The 5. Really, it is so difficult to plan anything with them, but it's not entirely their fault. And I have resumed my role that I swore i'll never do again : event planner & hostess (accommodation). Seriously guys, I am no domestic goddess, you'll starve n die of boredom at my house. Anyway. I'm really hoping things will turn out, its like we r destined to meet up next week (the way it was destined for me to join the bootcamp). So i'm expecting the dynamics to be a bomb. I mean, when Aida called me a few days ago it caught me by surprise. It was like, damn I miss her. So yeah...can't wait to see all of them.

9. Friends in Medical school. Phase II was when I really started to socialize with them. And now, I hope to connect with them at more levels. I want to find the right bunch to hang with, and to study with. People who'd make me interested to learn without making me feel pressured to turn bookish. I need to find a genuine friend : not colleagues, not classmates, not someone to just 'hang' with. Something more personal. I cant keep going on like this.

10. Its been 3 months since I stopped going to the gym...aiyo... how am I ever going to lose weight like this? I will I will I will. Deanna lost about 12kg, and I'm happy for her, with a tinge of envy. She looks great! Really. I gotta discipline myself. I need to lose about 10kg myself! AARGH. I dont wanna die fat! To die lonely is one thing, but lonely AND fat? no way man...

I just felt like writing....3 blog entries in a month? that's a lot coming from me. I guess I'm done. Hope some of you read it. By the way, I never got to thank the people who took the time to leave comments. Guys, I appreciate it very much. Keep em coming! I love reading them. Ok now. Bye bye!

No comments:

Post a Comment