Saturday, July 28, 2007

The scoop on everything else

Its almost the end of July, and I think I can declare that 2007 is a wonderful year...so far. Since the turn of the new year i had a hunch, a feeling that 2007 is gonna be great. And July has been a blast! So here is a long list of events & other going-ons in my life.

1. For those of you who keep contact with me regularly, u know that i'm still talking about the bootcamp quite a bit. Ever since it ended, my calendar is suddenly filled with gatherings & events (Janet's performance, rehearsals & open mic at The Attic, Ida's gig at Top Room, the restaurant launch, and the gathering at Manuella's-i skipped this one). There's also Megat's play coming up, and Maya's gig, and again Janet's gig, and of course My Name Is Remy in October. Even on a daily basis, i find myself looking forward to going online to check on the group's latest feed.

2. Last night was the official launch of Datin Seri Tiara Jacquelina's new eatery at Sunway called The Borneo Rainforest Cafe. All the bootcampers were invited. I nearly didn't go; was supposed to go back to Penang but sis had other plans. It was when Manuella called me at 6 that i decided : oh what the heck, when else are you gonna get an invite like this. There is a really nice feel to the place (unless it rains of course), and i was happy to see the campers again. I didnt even notice that Siti Nurhaliza + husbad was there, until Chedd pointed it out! He said on his blog that Sofea Jane was there too, but I didnt see her. Blur-case la me. I ate a lot, and was wondering whether or not I had to pay for all this....Apparently not! I think my mum would like the place, especially if they have live music regularly.

3. Medical school. So far, third year (Phase III) has been pretty vague and somewhat dull. I didn't feel a rise in my level of intelligence; the way I felt during the transition from Phase I to Phase II. I take comfort in knowing that I'm not the only one who feels this way. I've got most of my books, but haven't read any. On the brighter side, I'm participating more during the ward rounds; throwing myself out of my comfort zone & trying to overcome the 'please-dont-pick-me, God-I'm-scared-shitless-even-when-I-know-my-stuff'. I'm trying to integrate/apply my personality & the way how i enjoy myself at performances/practices/rehearsals with the cold hard science of Medicine. Its been tough; it doesn't always work. But when it does, it motivates me. I think i can make it....with a whole lot of effort needed on the study n discipline part!

3. My thoughts & feelings. Well, some have said that I am at a crossroads of my life. I agree. I'm trying to balance the pinnacle of science and the pinnacle of arts. Its like stretching myself n running to-n-fro the north and south poles. It is a matter of 'What I'm good at' vs 'What I like doing'. True, i'm not doing anything in theatre. Zero, zip, nada, nothing. But I want to, believe me I do. I can't just jump in, I need to start at the starting line. I still have a lot to learn. Reality being, I believe I have a limited market if i do choose to pursue theatre in future (translate=not much hope). Don't get the wrong picture; this is just me thinking & feeling. I want to be a kick-ass Surgeon (for now) vs I want to be in a kick-ass production with a kick-ass cast & crew. Back to the present : I'm being deployed to Klang on August 27th till the end of the academic year vs I've signed up for the 8th College Drama team and intend to join Festival Seni UM in January. How?

4. Family. My sis is now in UM. First year Law student. I'm proud of her. She's still adjusting, but at the same time celebrating her new Myvi, 2588! Daddy dearest doesn't like me mentioning the campers or seeing performances. According to him, all this is to be done only during my holidays so as not to interfere with academics. He says he supports me doing this as a hobby, but in truth I believe otherwise. I will not elaborate on my reasonings. My mum, i guess she understands my sense of happiness for doing what I do. But, every time i have a holiday she is extremely reluctant of me staying on in KL for whatever reason. See the conflict of interests? Haiyo...

5. I've realized that I have quite a lot in common with my Maksu. I want to be closer to her. I feel she is the adult to whom I can turn to, although she is only 28. But, our relationship is still very very new considering that she's only been part the family for over a year.

7. I watched The King & I at Istana Budaya with Maktok F & my sis. Tics were so expensive; if my grandma hadn't paid for it I wouldn't have watched it. Truth be told, I enjoyed PGLM better. It was more 'alive' and perhaps it was also my first theatre show. Anyway, part of the audience that night was a certain Adlin Aman Ramlie. He came with this woman, and my sis was 'fuming'....hehehe. They sat in our row and my sis couldn't stop stealing a glance. I also saw who I believe to be Carol Eu, the talent agent that was there during our audition. And of course, there was Tun Dr. Mahathir + wife and their lil entourage. Some crowd, huh? Back to the show. The scene I enjoyed most was 'The Small House of Uncle Thomas'. Perhaps it was bacause that scene had the most dance in it. The kids were so adorable. I thought the actress who played Anna was good. The King, (he got great reviews from most people I spoke to) I love the way he handled the humour, so off-hand. Cute, in a way. And I thought the one who played Lady Thiang was good as well. So, that's one musical down, and God-knows-how-many-more to go. (refer previous posts)

8. Next Friday I'm supposed to meet up with The 5. Really, it is so difficult to plan anything with them, but it's not entirely their fault. And I have resumed my role that I swore i'll never do again : event planner & hostess (accommodation). Seriously guys, I am no domestic goddess, you'll starve n die of boredom at my house. Anyway. I'm really hoping things will turn out, its like we r destined to meet up next week (the way it was destined for me to join the bootcamp). So i'm expecting the dynamics to be a bomb. I mean, when Aida called me a few days ago it caught me by surprise. It was like, damn I miss her. So yeah...can't wait to see all of them.

9. Friends in Medical school. Phase II was when I really started to socialize with them. And now, I hope to connect with them at more levels. I want to find the right bunch to hang with, and to study with. People who'd make me interested to learn without making me feel pressured to turn bookish. I need to find a genuine friend : not colleagues, not classmates, not someone to just 'hang' with. Something more personal. I cant keep going on like this.

10. Its been 3 months since I stopped going to the gym...aiyo... how am I ever going to lose weight like this? I will I will I will. Deanna lost about 12kg, and I'm happy for her, with a tinge of envy. She looks great! Really. I gotta discipline myself. I need to lose about 10kg myself! AARGH. I dont wanna die fat! To die lonely is one thing, but lonely AND fat? no way man...

I just felt like writing....3 blog entries in a month? that's a lot coming from me. I guess I'm done. Hope some of you read it. By the way, I never got to thank the people who took the time to leave comments. Guys, I appreciate it very much. Keep em coming! I love reading them. Ok now. Bye bye!

Saturday, July 14, 2007

What's next?

*sigh* The STARMAKER bootcamp ended last Sunday, 8th July. Already life seems a lot less fun. "What lingers after that was not life, but the most trivial list of mundane things"-The Virgin Suicides. Everyone I spoke to were still trying to shake off the bootcamp 'hangover'. It wasnt the body ache for me, i wasn't in pain. To say that i'm missing the campers deeply would be a tad bit melodramatic, but I somehow felt like something was missing, knowing that I wont be meeting up with them later that evening. It was more of the cheerfulness & enthusiasm that lingered; it's a good thing. I'm happy, and my close friends can really see it. When I first saw the pictures that we took during our audition day and the pics taken throughout camp, I was surprised to see my own face. I looked....different. A genuine smile, and for the first time in years; i thought i looked beautiful. It's a feeling i never want to forget.

I went for my first Phase 3A MBBS lecture on Monday, 8am bursting with energy, only to have the life sucked out of me by this completely dampening & demotivating lecturer. Good thing that this sudden drop of spirit was compensated during my Medical ward round : my clinician was hot!!! Kinda looks like Stephen Rahman-Hughes so, I ain't complaining!!! But yeah, its only the first week of classes and already i've skipped 5 lectures...plus i haven't got a clue what books to buy....and the tendon hammer....and the pen torch....

But yeah, my sort-of-secret exploration of the arts world is out. Since the last week of camp, our pictures were featured in Utusan, Kosmo, Berita Harian and also a small segment on the show Melodi on tv3. Mind you, yesterday they had a picture of me with my name n so-called quote underneath on Metro, plus tv3 did interview me during the audition day & Tiara said to look out for another feature of us in Melodi. Thanks to the large amount of publicity the boot camp is getting, some of my friends eventually found out what i've been up to.

Well, so far the campers have been in touch. Some have completely fell silent even on our Google Group. On the other hand, Maya has taken the initiative to make Door Bitch a reality; although i may have to express a certain degree of despair by her decision to start with a clean slate. I can't help but feel that if I hadn't came up with that whole gay-camp-hindustani spoof and revived the fantasies of Door Bitch for others to build upon (like Keith with that kick-ass poster), all talks about it would have died a long time ago. But I have to admit, at least now it is going somewhere n i know for sure it's in good hands. I want in on everything and seriously do hope to have a role and NOT as a Jabatan Agama Islam officer.

Well. Wednesday 11th July, i got to see Janet perform @ The Attic. It's my 2nd time watching her. I'm glad i decided to come; it was such a relief to see Manuella, Keith, Fadzilah, Janet, Amanda&Family, Sushee n Masz again. Kemek n Intan who followed me there felt odd n waited outside, egging me to excuse myself soon. Well guys, that's how I feel everytime u guys bring your boyfriends along on our group outings, or whenever u guys yak on the phone every single time we get together. Back to the story, I had the great fortune of chatting with Mia Palencia. I had no idea who she was, but we hit it off once introduced by Sushee. Now i know that Mia is quite a somebody in the Kl music scene. Best part, she's only 22! I do hope to see her perform one day. She was real friendly & easy-going.

Anyway. This coming Wednesday, all the campers will be performing @ The Attic, open mike. We all sing 1 solo song each, accompanied by the piano and we finish off with Seasons of Love, our theme song during camp. I have my doubts, but everyone has been really supportive, Mia & Nicole (another one who sang at Janet's gig on Wed) included. Heck, I'm never gonna get another chance like this so JUST DO IT! Who cares if i sound like crap? Its all about having fun; STARMAKERS making their first public debut.

That's it for now i guess. Thanks for checking in. By the way, here's a link just so u can see the promo for our showcase @ The Attic http://attickl.blogspot.com/ . See u guys soon!

Tuesday, July 3, 2007

STARMAKER : Musical Theatre Boot Camp

Yes, people, I joined the Bootcamp. Thank you very much Bilot for talking me into it, Intan Zarina & Syarifah Nabilah for helping me find the place, Daddy for paying for it, Paan for your encouragement. Normally I'd wait till something is over, and then recap....but I feel so strongly about this, that I feel like my chest is about to burst. why wait? I've found my love. The best thing this camp has done for me is making me realize how much i truly love performing and that i probably can't live without it.

My Maksu was the one who sms-ed me about the camp; she got the sms from Ida Mariana, the camp manager. I didn't even think about it at first coz I was focusing on my elective project (bacterial contamination on the white coats of health care workers and medical students) and on wanting to go back home to Penang. That night, I was talking it over with Bilot and then it was as if someone flicked the switched 'ON' within me : I HAD TO GET INTO THE CAMP.

The next day, I emailed to ask more information and set off to Ampang Point to locate the studio. Mind you, i was using public transport and walked around the blocks for hours through rain and shine, literally. I didnt care that my jeans & shoes were wet from the puddles, my face oily and tudung blotchy from the rain & sweat. Mission failed. Then, Enfiniti Productions responded to my email, and i learned that classes stretched till 11pm. This was a problem : I cant rely on LRT and i have no clue how to drive myself there. I got directions from Intan Zarina, (may Allah have mercy on her soul) and the next day (Friday), i proceeded to settle my registration. I had them fax the papers to my grandma's house and i banked in the deposit (mind you, Enfiniti called me coz they thought they messed up the account number!). 12pm, I had Syarifah Nabilah join me on my quest to familiarize with the road to Ampang and to locate Ten on Ten studios.

3 hours and RM6 tol fees later, we found it and satisfied our hungry tummies at Linda Onn's chicken rice downstairs. I reached my grandma's house at 4, finished my packing, secured my baby in a box (Baby J, my rabbit), waved for a cab at 4.30. I reached the KTM at 4.50, and managed to get tickets for the 5pm bus to Penang (mind you, next bus was 8pm). If that's not hectic, I don't know what is.

Saturday : grocery shopping. Sufia's bro's wedding. Dinner at Swensen's

Sunday : sent my sis to the bus station. brought my baby to the vet. met up with Sufia, Nadia, Hazirah,Illani & Durar (The ol gang) at Queensbay, helped mum make creme caramel

Monday : 10am bus to KL

Then, Tadaa! The launch of STARMAKER. Tiara was there, Adlin was there, Ida, Pat, Sean, Reza, the press, etc. And there I was at one corner of the room, a nervous wreck. I'd be lying if i said i wasn't worried/self-concious about the fact I'm bertudung, and the fact I have ZERO experience and unsure of what I have to offer. Everyone seems to know everyone and i stuck out like a sore thumb. I started to pick out first-timers like myself and befriended them. Then after the press conference, we went straight into Boot Camp Mode. Intro to every class we'd have. Sean even taught us a lil routine.

The next day was dance class with Pat Ibrahim. The only word I can think of to describe him is 'Jiwa'. He reminds me so much of Hafiz that I can't help but smile everytime I see him. Never mind that, Pat really takes the concept of body aches and sore muscles to a whole new level. We learnt the chorus routine of Titah Sultan (super cool). 10 seconds worth of dancing took us >4 hours to learn. Brilliant, fantastic, I love it (even though i look like a spinning walrus doing it).

Thursday was Reza's session. It wasn't as physically taxing, but it was challenging nonetheless. I personally found it hard to grasp the concepts of acting that was being taught. But like the other campers said, Reza's class is the time when we first got a sense of working together and learning more about each other. That night, was my first breakdown. I felt I didn't belong, because 95% of the students are professional singers, dancers or actors. Even first-timers at least has had vocal or jazz/ballet lessons before, or an early exposure to the world of theatre. During the class, Reza said singing was like being on stage naked for him, and for Soefi, it was dance. Me, i felt like i came into the camp completely naked.

Friday was Sean's class, and we managed to learn & complete the chorus for The American Dream (TAD, from Miss Saigon), singing harmonies + dance. As if our muscles arent't in pain, Sean made us do a lot of ab exercise during warm-up. And then, added the intro steps for TAD. It was fun, exhausting and a lot to take in. And as always, I was very unsure about my singing. Friendship among bootcampers were developing, and that took a lil edge off me, thank God.

Saturday. Pat taught us the intro routine for Asmaradana. Again, brilliant and bloody hard to follow. We had another session with Reza, with gibberish and making lasting impressions. Then, with Llew picking our audition song. Sunday, the best day to date. It was the first time Pat, Sean and Reza joined forces to really drill us. We did Titah Sultan, TAD chorus, then the boys went with Reza & Llew for their audition songs while the girls were grilled by Sean teaching more steps for TAD intro. The 30min break that followed lead us to an intimate chat session with out camp leaders. Everyone shared their story : how they came about, what they do, how'd they join the camp. Our stories paralelled one another : everyone had 2 sides to their lives/identities. Suddenly, there was such a strong bond being forged. It was like everyone came to a mutual agreement without really discussing it. We were family.

Last part of the session on Sunday, we did Seasons of Love picture postcard. It moved so many of us to tears; I thought i was the only one. Had I been more confident I would've let go earlier. When we returned to our homes, some of us, myself included, really broke down and cried. That's when our Virtual E-Family (as I call it) really picked up. Some continued sharing stories, others sending clips to motivate and help us learn. The best part is when Ida, Tiara and the admins admitted they wanted 'in' on our mailing circle. They were surprised with the love and energy going around, even if it is on cyberspace.

Today, the first day of Week 2 in STARMAKER. I personally felt the dynamics in the class has changed almost dramatically. Tiara joined us today and shared her experience. By the look on her face, I'd say she was impressed with the campers. Ida came too; apparently she's been sick the past few sessions. I got all the PGLM cast members that were there to sign my programme book. I felt so happy. And you know what? Next, I'm gonna ask everyone (campers+cikgus) to sign in my camp notebook, just like i did in SGGS before I left for MRSM.

There you have it. That's how this 3rd Year Medical Student (sem starts Monday, 9th) sacrificed the 1 week remaining in her 2+month semester break (most of the break was spent in UM doing the elective project). I have no regrets. I will find a way to juggle medicine and theatre. I will find time to watch the musicals we've been referring to and those that you guys talk about so often.

One guy in GOAT (refer previous posts) said to me, "Dima, I hope to see you succeed in two theatres; the operating theatre and the stage theatre". I'll do what I can, the best that I know how, to fulfill that. That dream and desire I've had, buried for so long. Doctor by day, performer by night. Say YES to an extraordinary life!